Tarion Announces Best New Home Builders As Chosen By Their Customers

Toronto, ON, March 16, 2016 - The finalists for the 2016 Homeowners’ Choice Awards, presented by Tarion, are announced today. These are the only awards that give Ontario’s new home buyers the power to have their new home builder recognized for customer service excellence.

 Formerly known as the Tarion Awards of Excellence, the Homeowners’ Choice Awards recognize a builder’s excellence in customer service each year in four categories: Small, Medium, Large Volume and High Rise.  The process for selecting finalists has not changed, only the name has changed to better reflect how the award recipients are chosen.

 “These awards have always been about new home buyers in Ontario and their level of satisfaction with their individual builder,” said Tarion President and CEO Howard Bogach.  “Changing the name to the Homeowners’ Choice Awards simply reflects the importance of the customer’s experience in the new home buying process, and how each and every home buyer can have a say in whether a new home builder receives recognition,” adds Bogach.

 Finalists were determined based on the results of a comprehensive survey sent to more than 56,000 Ontario homeowners who took possession of a new home between October 1, 2014 and September 30, 2015. Almost 12,000 completed survey responses were received, representing a high response rate of more than 21 per cent.  The results were tabulated by Crunch Research and Nielsen. 

Survey questions focused on homeowners’ satisfaction with their builder, covering every stage in the homeowner-builder relationship from the signing of the Agreement of Purchase and Sale, through construction and the pre-delivery period, to after-sales service. 

 According to Bogach, “This year marks Tarion’s 40th anniversary of protecting new home buyers in Ontario. Throughout the decades, we’ve witnessed home buyers having an increased impact on the new home buying experience based on the decisions they make. The Homeowners’ Choice Awards reflects the importance of their opinions, and champions excellence in customer service.”

 To qualify for the Awards, builders must have at least five new home possessions during the survey timeframe and a specified number of completed questionnaires must have been received.

 Award recipients will be announced at a luncheon in Toronto on Thursday, April 28, 2016.

 The following new home builders compete in four award categories: Small, Medium, Large Volume and High-Rise.


High-Rise Category

(More than 100 high-rise possessions per year)

The Daniels Corporation  –   Toronto

Del Ridge Homes  –  Markham

Domicile – Ottawa

Plaza  – Toronto

The Tricar Group -- London

Tridel  –  Toronto


Large Volume Category

(More than 100 possessions per year)

Arista Homes Ltd. –  Vaughan

The Daniels Corporation    – Toronto

Granite Homes  –  Guelph

Mountainview Homes  –  Thorold

Tamarack Development Corp.  –  Ottawa

Tribute Communities – Pickering


Medium Volume Category

(21-100 possessions per year)

J .F. Markell Homes Ltd. – Cornwall

Klemencic Homes – Trenton

LEMAY Homes - Maisons LEMAY – Gloucester

Mikmada Homes Inc. – Burlington

SACA Homes – Casselman

Wrighthaven Homes Limited – Elora


Small Volume Category

(5-20 possessions per year)

Beisel Contracting Inc. –  Kincardine

Bouma Builders Inc. –  Chatham

Kolody Homes - Tecumseh

Marlo Homes Inc. –  London

Menard Bros. & Associates Ltd. –  Cornwall

Terry Waito Homes Inc. – Petawawa


For more information, please contact:

Senior Manager, Corporate Communications at (416) 229-3863 or mediainquiries@tarion.com