Home buyers vote for the best of the best

By Howard Bogach, CEO, Tarion Warranty Corporation

Originally published in the Toronto Sun on May 5, 2018

When athletes achieve greatness, they are rewarded with medals or trophies or they may even be inducted into a Hall of Fame. This is how you know that they are the best of the best in their sport.

In the new home building industry, the best of the best receive Homeowners’ Choice Awards.

Each year Tarion gives home buyers in Ontario the opportunity to share their experiences and to rate their builders. We ask them about their builder’s performance before, during and after they move into their new home. The results of these surveys determine the finalists and the recipients in four categories: Small, Medium, Large Volume and High-Rise. 

In any sporting event, you have judges or referees who help determine who comes out on top. For the 2018 Homeowners’ Choice Awards, it was more than 11,500 new home buyers who chose who would be recognized for their commitment to quality, communication and above all, customer service that extends long after the Agreement of Purchase and Sale is signed. To see a full list of the finalists, visit Tarion.com 

The winners of this year’s Homeowners’ Choice Awards are:

  • Small Volume Category -- Kolody Homes, Belle River 
  • Medium Volume Category - Talos Custom Homes Ltd., Richmond
  • Large Volume Category -- Hayhoe Homes, St. Thomas
  • High-Rise Category -- Plazacorp Investments, Toronto

Yet even among top players there is often a chosen MVP. In 2017, we introduced a new award – the Ernest Assaly Award – that goes to the builder who demonstrates a longstanding commitment to not only creating a quality home for their customers but also developing the skills of the team that’s responsible for that home and investing in the community that surrounds it.

Similar to a lifetime achievement award, a builder can only earn this honour once and the recipient is chosen by a committee from a shortlist of builders who meet the rigorous criteria required to be invited to participate. The Ernest Assaly Award recognizes the highest level of excellence in Ontario home building while honouring the legacy of Ernest Assaly, a highly respected leader in the residential building industry who was Tarion’s first Board Chair. 

The recipient of the Ernest Assaly Award is: Tridel, Toronto.

Tarion congratulates all of the 2018 award recipients for constantly striving to be at the top of their game and, by doing so, instilling confidence in the new home buying experience across Ontario.

Click here to view the original column.